Jarrow Formulas Fem-Dophilus®
    Benefits & Features:
  • Oral Probiotic for Natural Vaginal Health*
  • Clinically-Documented Benefits
  • 20+ Years of Clinical Research
  • Patented Lactobacilli: GR-1® and RC-14®
  • Help to maintain or restore healthy vaginal flora that are important in maintaining vaginal health*
  • Support the health of the urinary tract*
  • 5 Billion viable cells per capsule when kept refrigerated and within Best Used Before Date.
 
Product Summary:
Finding a natural probiotic remedy for womens' needs can be a daunting task since probiotics in general are more known for their benefits of digestive care. If you're looking for a probiotic supplement to help promote vaginal and urinary health*; Jarrow Formulas Fem-Dophilus is another great choice. What makes this probiotic supplement different from the rest of pack is the disclosure of the strains GR-1 and RC-14, both strains come from the species Lactobacilli. Lactobacilli bacterium is the most prevalent type of probiotic bacteria found in the urogenital system of a woman.
Key Ingredients:
The following are the active/functional ingredients in
Jarrow Formula's Fem-Dophilus.

Important: We recommend that you review the Product Label for more details on updated ingredients or contact the manufacturer directly. You can also visit Fem-Dophilus ingredients to get the latest information on the product.
  • Lactobacillus Rhamnosus – Probiotic strain used in L. Rhamnosus species: GR-1
  • Lactobacillus Reuteri – Probiotic strain used in L. Reuteri species: RC-14
  • Other Ingredients – Dextrose Anhydrate, Potato Starch, Cellulose, Magnesium Stearate. Capsule consists of gelatin and titanium dioxide.
  • Both strains GR-1 and RC-14 were discovered by Dr. Gregory Reid and have been the subject of many clinical studies and trials for the past 20+ years.
    Advantages:
  • Subject of 20+ years of clinical research
  • Fem-Dophilus uses Lactobacillus Rhamnosus GR-1 and Lactobacillus Reuteri RC-14
  • Multi-probiotic strains
  • Clinically proven probiotic bacteria strains
  • Helps colonize and support the vaginal tract*
  • Helps restore healthy vaginal flora including the urinary tract*
  • Capsules are encased in a polysaccharide matrix that helps protect the probiotic bacteria from stomach acids
  • Does not contain gluten, wheat, eggs, fish/shellfish, peanuts, or tree nuts
    Disadvantages:
  • Does require refrigeration. Online ordering and shipping through other avenues might kill of the probiotic bacteria if not packed correctly (cold packs) when shipping. Shipping costs might be expensive for next day or 2nd day shipping. Buying at a local store is the best option.
  • Contains dairy casein (milk by-product) and may not be suitable for those who are lactose sensitive.
  • Capsule is made of gelatin not vegetable. Gelatin based capsules might activate the probiotic bacteria due to levels of moisture versus vegetable capsule. Majority of probiotic supplements are vegetable based versus gelatin.
  • Low CFUs compared to other probiotics.
  • Fem-Dophilus does not contain prebiotics. Prebiotics help grow and colonize the probiotic bacteria.*
  • May not be suitable for diabetics. Fem-Dophilus contains Dextrose and Potato Starch as part of "other ingredients." If you are pre-diabetic or diabetic please seek professional medical advice.
Overall Evaluation:
Jarrow Formulas Fem-Dophilus brings 20+ years of clinically documented probiotic strains to help support vaginal and urinary health.* Fem-Dophilus is a great womens probiotic, but may not be an option for those who are lactose sensitive or who are diabetic. We recommend you seek professional medical advice before taking any probiotic product.
Consumer Reviews/Testimonials
(Source: http://www.amazon.com)
"great product, December 8, 2007 - I love this product. I haven't had any more symptoms since beginning this product 6 months ago. It was mailed quickly to me."
By book haven
"timely manner, but multiple broken capsules, June 5, 2011 - I received my order quite quickly which was great. I was a bit concerned because I know it is supposed to be refrigerated. It did seem to be in some sort of insulated packaging. I was disappointed though to find upon opening the bottle that many of the capsules were broken. Therefore there was white powder (from the inside) mixed in with all the capsules. I would guess that I have a total of 50 capsules with about ten that were broken inside. I'm not sure what caused this but it was a bit disappointing."
By celouis
"Va Jay Jay Saver!!! : ), December 1, 2011 - I wish I could give this more stars!! Where do I start like so many women on here I have had chronic yeast infection and BV issues!! Especially since I am now on antibiotics for Boils!! I have used this for 3 days shoving two capsules up my Va Jay Jay!! And amazing no more itching already on the 3rd day and I also had a funny oder that has been taken out!! I am so happy I could cry!! Every women knows how unsexy and unlady like u feel when things aren't right with big mama!! No matter what u wear or how ur hair is done up u just don't feel right!! And its not just about sex its just your confidence as a woman is a lot on how u smell and walk with confidence!! Who can walk with confidence and u itching like u whiped with Poisin Ivy!! But seriously my prayers have been answered and I will be letting women know about this amazing product!! Now one thing is it seemed liked I pee'd a lot more but I'm nnot sure if that was the medicine!! I will be buying more!!"
By MzBugg
"GREAT PRODUCT!, February 12, 2012 - this product really help me with my vaginal odor. It actually saved my relationship with my boyfriend. He really complained about my odor and said that I really needed to fix the problem. This really made me feel bad and it brought my self esteem down really low.It got to the point that i would avoid having sex with him because i didn't want him to keep saying something about my odor. So I did some research on BV and vaginal odor on the internet and read some of the stories of different women who was having the same problems as I was. So I tried the different remedies that they suggested and Jarrow's pills was one of the remedies.I started off taking two pills a day because I had my odor for a long time(year)and in two weeks my odor disappeared. So now I just take one pill day. And now my boyfriend is very happy and glad that I took care of the problem. I hope this review help because I know how embarassing and humiliating it is for your boyfriend to say something to you about vaginal odor."
By Toinette38
"Was shipped unrefrigerated...?, March 19, 2013 - The bottle says to keep these refrigerated--not after opening, either. They were not shipped with a gel pack or anything. I took two anyway as I am on the tail end of a resilient infection and put them in the fridge, but now I'm concerned. They sat in my mailbox for I don't know how many days, as I was expecting a UPS package. Has anyone had a problem with this? I will update when I hear back from the retailer. Update - Saw in another review these pills are stable without refrigeration from 1-3 days, and that iherb.com ships with ice, unlike most retailers. Ordering during summer months is not recommended."
By chelleedub "rocker outter"
"Didn't work for me., August 17, 2010 - Sorry, after suffering from a nasty yeast infection, which I did manage with a prescription. I thought that I would try this product. While waiting for delivery, I bought Pearls supplements and started taking those. Wow, did I feel better in just a few days. Less bloating and gas, no more constipation. Upon receiving Fem-Dophilus, I stopped with the Pearls and started taking those. After a few days, I was once again constipated and bloated. I have since stopped with Fem and went back to Pearls. I gave Fem away to my mother. I would rather take something that works. Not a thumbs up from me guys, sorry. What works for some, may not work for all. Just wish I would have tried the Pearls before ordering and wasting my money. Pearls are less expensive, too."
By Sher-lynn
"AMAZING====10 STARS, June 1, 2013 - I AM 38, HAD A HYSTERECTOMY, BEEN SUFFERING FROM YEAST, BV, AND UTIs, FOR FIVE YEARS...HAVE TAKEN SO MANY MEDS, W/O LUCK...THESE ARE AMAZING, I HAVE BEEN TAKING TWO A DAY, ALONG WITH USING LUVENA EVERY THREE DAYS, AND I AM INFECTION CLEAR. I TYPE WITH TEARS B/C THIS HAS BEEN A HORRIBLE ISSUE FOR ME. I AM SO EXTREMELY RELIEVED PARTIALLY B/C MY YEAST WAS RESISTANT TO OTC CREAMS AND DIFLUCIN , AND I HAVE ONLY BEEN TAKING THESE MEDS LITTLE OVER A WEEK, I HAD A YEAST INFECTION AT THE TIME I STARTED THESE MEDS...GONE BYE BYE!!! WILL CONTINUE TO TAKE PROBIOTICS, BUT WILL GET THEM FROM WALGREENS, AND WILL CONTINUE TO USE LUVENA."
By Lady C
"I wish I knew about this years ago., February 14, 2013 - I have had recurring yeast infections and BV for years and my Gyn doc would prescribe antibotic to clear up each time. Then I went to a Planned Parenthood clinic for a quick visit and the nurse practioner suggested that I try this product. OMG, I have gone 2 months without either yeast infection or BV. I stop taking for a month thinking I would be ok. Guess what, I have symptoms of BV again. So I ordered another bottle today to start taking daily again."
By dh
"Worked ok, January 27, 2013 - This review is from: Jarrow Formulas Fem-Dophilus, 60 Capsules (Health and Beauty) I used this while also eating a lot of yogurt and drinking a lot of cranberry juice, so I can't say for sure if it was the sole reason of helping with my bacterial vaginosis, or the combination. It certainly didn't hurt though!"
By S. Stegmann
"Twenty years of cyclical infections are gone, May 22, 2009 - I have suffered from recurring infections since my teens (now in my 30s). I read about this product in Good Germs Bad Germs and decided to give it a try. It works. It works so well that I can honestly say this product has changed my life and my marriage. When I think of all the money I have spent over the years on creams, prescriptions, OTC supplements, homeopathic treatments, special diets, etc -- I wish more doctors knew about this product. It would have saved me so much pain and heartache. I have been using Femdophilus for over a year now, and at this point, I take it only when I feel discomfort. In the beginning, I took it regularly (twice a day) for six months. Do not buy any other brand. These probiotic strains are tested and have years of clinical study behind them."
By Jenn "Jenn"
"excellent product!, November 4, 2009 - Had read all the rave reviews beforehand, so was very optimistic and hopeful. To my great relief the product did not disappoint! I recommend this product highly!"
By C. Blumenthal
"expensive option, December 11, 2011 - Purchased this product, expensive, and needs to be refrigerated, when I received it was not so you are unable to tell how long it has been out of the fridge... I would rec rephresh lactobacillus, you can purchase here or in your local drug store."
By sherry
"Not refrigerated!!, February 16, 2011 - So far these pills have been working well with controlling my ailments; however I didn't notice anything with the first order. I decided to purchase the pills from whole foods and noticed a significant difference. I attribute this to the fact that the seller does not refridgerate the pills when they are shipped to the customer. Doesn't make sense to buy them online cheaper if they aren't kept cold. Great product!"
By Esperanza2013
"These are the best pills for women who want to improve vaginal flora, April 3, 2010 - These pills are outstanding for improving conditions in your urinary tract. They are wonderful for acheiving perfect balance and harmony for women health."
By La Kisha M. Taylor
"Great!, February 7, 2010 - I have been using this product for going on my second month and I can't express how great it is. I too bought the product after seeing all the great reviews. I too have been battling vaginal infections for most of my adult life (about 12 years). NOTHING worked, I tried the creams, the pills, the suppositories and my bacterial infections ALWAYS came back! This is the first time my WOMANHOOD has felt normal since I was in my early teens and I'm SO happy! Anyone who has chronic infections needs to use this. It took my only a week to see dramatic results, but if you've been dealing with problems for years, it may take some months to completely clear it up. I take this vitamin with my birth control as a daily regimen and will for life!"
Deanna Silva "wraveness"
"SIMPLY AMAZING!!!, November 3, 2012 - Omg!! I NEVER write reviews but this product saved my life!! I take birth control pills that alter my hormones an ph levels so I have chronic BV. This is the cure!! No more embarrassment!! I'm writing this to tell you ladies to try this! The first night I took 2. That same night my vagina started to get rid of the bad bacteria. I took 2 in the morning and 2 at night. Im down to 1 a day. The experience was amazing and I've never felt cleaner!!"
John of Gainsville, Florida
"Wonderful for chronic yeast infections!, June 6, 2012 - For the last 15 months I have dealt with chronic yeast infections. it was to the point where my obgyn had to put me on weekly Diflucan for the past 9 months. I started this 4 weeks ago and for the first time in 15 months I am normal again! This was the fourth probiotic I tried (culturelle, align and pearl). Highly recommend it. Also, it doesn't need to be refrigerated until after you open it."
By ErikaGeorgia
Important Disclaimer
The information presented on this page is for informational and educational purposes only under section 5 of Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994 (DSHEA). It is your responsibility as a consumer to not make decisions based solely on the information provided. The information on this page is not intended as medical advice nor should it be considered as such. The information presented on this page concerns dietary supplements that are not prescription drugs or over-the-counter (OTC) drugs. For more information on product labeling please contact the manufacturer or distributor below.
Member Comments:
Post to Facebook
Alexander Ellison
With just a little planning at the market, it's much easier to eat and cook healthy! Great article
Reply · 8 · Like · Follow Post · October 3 at 10:28pm
Alexander Ellison
With just a little planning at the market, it's much easier to eat and cook healthy! Great article
Reply · 8 · Like · Follow Post · October 3 at 10:28pm
Alexander Ellison
With just a little planning at the market, it's much easier to eat and cook healthy! Great article
Reply · 8 · Like · Follow Post · October 3 at 10:28pm